Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois has expressed his belief that Arsenal’s first goal in the FA Cup final on Saturday ‘should never have been allowed.’
The Gunners went on to win 2-1, denying Chelsea a league and cup double, despite Diego Costa’s second half equaliser.
Sanchez’s opening goal after just four minutes proved controversial, and Courtois had two complaints over its legitimacy after the game.
“The first goal should never have been allowed – it was clearly a handball and then Ramsey was offside because he he was interfering in play,” the Belgian goalkeeper said – via 101 Great Goals.
“After that goal, we tried to play but they deserved it. Then we went down to 10 men and the red card was correct.”
He added: “The last four or five games in the league Arsenal were playing well so we expected a hard game. They started very well and we were with our backs against the goal.
“Then we conceded a goal that should not be allowed, they get the momentum and it was very hard for us. Only at the end of the first half did we come out of their pressure and create some chances, but not enough.”
On the Moses sending off, Courtois said: “He doesn’t need to apologise. The first yellow he had to get because otherwise Welbeck was through and the second obviously was a dive and the referee was right to give a yellow.”