• Chelsea's Twitter Account Claims Arsenal's First Goal Was Clearly Offside During FA Cup Final

    News Sun 28 May 2017

    ​Those behind Chelsea’s Twitter account were fuming as Alexis Sanchez put Arsenal ahead in the FA Cup final on Saturday.

    Sanchez blocked N’Golo Kante’s clearance as the ball looped into Chelsea’s area with Aaron Ramsey standing in an offside position. The Wales international initially made a move towards the ball but then left it for Sanchez, who finished beyond Thibaut Courtois.

    Arsenal v Chelsea - The Emirates FA Cup Final

    After consultation with the linesman, referee Anthony Taylor awarded the goal. Arsenal went on to win the final 2-1, with Ramsey netting the winner after Diego Costa had equalised, but not before Chelsea’s Twitter account had their say on the controversial incident.

    The initial reporting seemed to be fairly balanced, stating that Arsenal had taken the lead through Sanchez.

    ​​

    ​​The most damning tweets came soon after, with Chelsea arguing Ramsey was “clearly offside”, describing the decision as a “harsh one”.

    ​​

    ​​Chelsea failed to regroup though, eventually losing as Victor Moses was sent off for two quick bookable offences.

    There were also calls for handball by Sanchez as he charged down Kante’s kick but no decision came and the goal stood, laying the platform for Arsenal to win a record 13th FA Cup trophy.

    [embedded content]

    ​​

    Source: http://www.90min.com/posts/5062968-chelsea-s-twitter-account-claims-arsenal-s-first-goal-was-clearly-offside-during-fa-cup-final?utm_source=RSS


    Comments (0)

    Our Friends

    The #1 Unofficial fan site. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

    The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

    Close